Tuesday, January 31, 2006

Believe me, Natalie.

Does everyone know I have an iPod?

My wife gave me a video iPod on our anniversary.
My wife is really cool. Her names hina. I don’t think everyone here knows her.

I need some time off from work. Time off to enjoy the simpler things in life.
My iPod, my laptop and a DSL connection. (presently in my sisters office)
I’m thinking of getting a connection at home. And then getting a wireless router which is like 5000 rupees. And sharing the cost with amna.
Amna doesn’t know this yet.
Now she does.

Hina doesn’t know this either. She could possibly veto it. But why would she do that to me… why? Why???

So, this Cheesoo commented on my last bloggy, remember?
Well i did my research and found out who it is.

Hello Cheesoo.

I asked Saaroo why I called you talcum powder and she has absolutely no idea. So I figure you’re just lying. Even though it does sound a lot like something I would say.

In any case. I hope your baby pops healthy and happy. And I hope you name him Ali.

Ali Cheesoo.

Ali is also a girls name so youre safe either way.
Bonos wife is Ali.
The girl in Karate Kid 1 was also Ali. (played by Elizabeth Shue)

Elizabeth is a good name. Unlike Shue.

Was the betty in archie comics actually Elizabeth??
How weird is that?? Elizabeth and Veronica.

Someone asked me yesterday what my blog was about.
I had no answer to that.
I could have said its about me. But that sounds horribly conceited.
So I figure from now on I’ll write about all of you as well. My faithful Bloggees.

I am the blogger and all of you are my bloggees. Or my Miqs, if you please.

Shamas reading these bloggys now as well.
But she doesn’t comment on them cos she says shes a bit intimidated by my sharp wit.
Shes a funny girl, that Shama. Good at heart too. Also shia. And 5’-6”.

There.
This blog was about Shama.

Next Week:
Tim

Monday, January 30, 2006

private lives

I am blessed.

What a pleasant sounding line that is. ‘Bless’ is a nice word.
I shall start to say this more often.

So Bryan Adams came, got over-whelmed, sang his heart out, and left.

Im still on such a high.
Im sure he is too.

We’re really quite alike. Bryan and i.
Both on highs.

I wish you were here too Miq. You would have had a blast. You didn’t call back though. So maybe youre jealous
It was seriously like one big party in the park.
Karachi can be the BESTESTEST city in the world if it wants to. So much enthusiasm. So many familiar faces. Its really really like home.

But bryan adams won himself some really loyal fans last night. The guy was just so … uhhh… downright nice:)

Heres my ONE favourite moment from last night.
Not a long list.
Just one.

I could make a list. But I don’t think im writing very well right now. So I shouldn’t write too much. I should have stopped this bloggy after the ‘bryan and I are so alike’ joke. But I have lots to say. And im in no mood to say it.
Maybe cos it’s a “you had to be there” thing.

Im glad I went with the people I went with.
I like them all a lot. Thank you Saarooz, Ayoo, Fatims, Shamsters, and Chots.
Youre the BEST! :)

Ok so heres the one moment which I shall try to describe and im sure it wont sound as cool as it really was.

So towards the end of the first set (before the encores) bryan and co. start playing the first few chords of “Heaven”.
And then in the song theres a break after the first bar. And then he’s supposed to start singing.

So they play the chords and then all of sudden before bryan could start singing. The entire crowd starts! “ohhhhhhhhhhhh thinking about those younger years…” and bryan and keith (I think that’s the guitarists name) were just taken aback at the fact that EVERYONE knew which song it was!

So bryan just smiled and looked over at keith and started singing with the crowd.

IT WAS JUST AWESOME !!!
The moment was just sooooooooo HUGE. It was like bryan adams was seriously shocked at the fact that people knew his songs way over in Pakistan.

And then in the end he said something like…
‘I could never imagine, when I was writing most of these songs, that one day id be here singing them in front of you. Thank you all for making this happen!!

He was just so down to earth that you felt like he deserves all the success he gets.

I was just so overcome that there were times when I surprised myself.
Like when they came back for the encore.
They came running back and he started singing “number nine, number nine, number nine number nine…” from the beginning of cloud No.9. I was just… so out of control :)
I couldn’t stop jumping up and down.
I love that song.

Its such a feel-good song.

Khair.
Im going on and on now. And I really shouldn’t.
You really REALLY should have been there:)

I’ll go write a thank you note to bryan on his website now:)

Here you go shama.
A boring yet insightful blog.

Coming up next:
Random people popping up on my bloggy. Coincedence? or am I just insanely popular.

Friday, January 27, 2006

dis one dat one

I could have become many things in life.
I wouldn’t have been very successful at them either.

I always thought I could become a stand up comedian. But I don’t have the delivery. I can’t “tell” jokes.
I wonder if stand up comedians have to be good at telling jokes. You know, like some guys who’re the life of the party telling punjabi adult humour jokes.
I go to weird parties.

Ive only been good at telling two jokes throughout my life. And everyone I know has already heard them.

Maybe I should take my two joke routine on the road, in front of people I don’t know.
I could open for a bigger comedian. Come out on the stage, do the first joke. And when theyre all recoiling from the laughter of the first one WHAM!!! I hit them with another.
And then im gone.
While theyre all left wondering “Who was that masked funny-man?”

Heres one of the two jokes:
(I have this translated and typed cos I earlier emailed it to all my friends- such is my desire for appreciation)

its called “the charsi (junkie) joke”
now im going to go look through my old emails to find it.

Im back.
Ok ---so I cant find it right now.
But I did find interesting snippets from earlier mails which I find interesting.
What an interesting sentence.

These are sGel mails- incase youre wondering.
And incase youre wondering what sGel mails are…
keep wondering.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fatims -Your gift is ready as I write---sorry bout the delay- Again :)
Coming to erums? you should—even if for a little while---also all of you other folks-

How come noone says ‘folks’ anymore? Oh ok----
it sounds like a british person swearing-
“them folks dunno know what theyre doing! innit?”

Haha…ok maybe not-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh and J—about your little Linkin Park theory—its true to some extent—
cos I saw a live show of theirs once—and chester (the singer)---that’s his real name—really!!!)-
chester benington—like some british butler.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Navvo----its like i hardly know you—
not that i really did before---but now toh its like--Navvo who?--
so Navvo who?--you coming back this summer?--is the man doing good? treating you alright?--
funny how when you don’t have anything much to say to a person you start asking questions---:)


so maheen--whats up??

hahaaha:)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEW BLOGGY

This is another day.

I’m quite excited about the whole Bryan Adams thing.
But I can’t seem to find anyone to share my excitement.

This is my first official rock concert.
I don’t care if its not u2 or Radiohead. Im okay with Mr. Adams. I grew up on his music.
In fact, the first CD I actually ever bought (for Rs.400 from…hmm…i can’t remember the name…was it Nadir Electronics?? Some electronics store next to teen talwaar. That was one of the two places you could get CDs in Defence / Clifton. 400 rupees seemed so unimaginably high when you were used to 25 rupee tapes from billboard. )

In any case…so the first CD I actually bought was Bryan Adams-Into the Fire.
And I bought it only because I’d heard Heaven and Summer of 69 (thanks to my elder cousins). So I bought Into The Fire and I came home and I heard it all the time.
Even though it wasn’t really a good album except maybe three songs. And it didn’t have Heaven or Summer of 69.
I remember I brought it home and I wrote on it “ALI’S COLLECTION #53”.
So as to imply that I had 52 other cds before buying that one.

When you’re young you seem to think that everyone really cares about what you do.
I obviously imagined someone important coming to my room, where this cd was carelessly thrown on the floor, picking it up and being impressed by the fact that if this was cd #53 I must have 52 others.

I still have the cd.
I should take it to get it signed.
:)

I’m hoping the sound is good. That’s my foremost reason for going. To see what they do with the sound. I have never gone to a concert where the sound was good, so I’m hoping this will be my first one.
I could have become a sound engineer. That’s something i could have done. Maybe this concert will change my life. Give me new direction. I shall find my true calling.
Maybe I’m just expecting too much.

I just hope he doesn’t end up singing Saali with Shehzad Roy.

Can you imagine trying to explain that to Bryan Adams?

SR: “Well… Bryan… The funny thing is that “Sally”… means your wife’s younger sister…
but it is also sort of offensive to call someone that… Therein lies the humour to my song!”

Great pop music.

Saturday, January 14, 2006

the goats are coming!! the goats are coming!!

[Forget that our time is almost up.]

The new year.
I hope 2006 isnt a big year.
I hope its one of those years in which nothing exceptionally worth remembering happens.
Like 1987.
We were back from Saudi and living at my khalas. Nothing much else happened.
2005 was embarrassingly huge.

Here are some of the events, in case you missed them. (in no particular order)

01) The tsunami. (even though technically it was still 2004 then)
but the impact was felt really way into 2005.
02) Raja Maamoo passed away. (see unpublished blog when I die)
03) The earthquake and fakhrs subsequent rise to poster child for the pro-active citizen.
04) Katrina -not that it affected too many over here- apart from the Islamic groups who felt it was a sign from God- until the earthquake happened.
And then they blamed underground nuclear testing by the USA for it.
05) I got married. (technically, this could also be called a 2004 event but it really wasn’t.)
06) Aunty (mom-in-law) got ill.
(but is better now, maashallah.)
07) We went on our honeymooney.
08) I entered a competition to win an ipod. I didn’t win.
09) I did win a 2000 rupee gift voucher for this furniture shop. Which we sadly didn’t end up using.
10) AyooFatims wedding.
11) 28th December – iPOD day!!! Also our one year anniversary.
12) I started a new job. And subsequently quit.
13) Any hopes of a career in music died. A sad, Sad year indeed.
14) I got a Firebox. As a gift from miq. One last attempt to jumpstart the musician in me.
15) I wore a suit. Twice!! In one year!!! (technically it was once in ‘05 and once in ‘06)
16) I bought a laptop. Which is way, WAY!!! cooler than yours. Whoever you may be.
(unless you own the new iBook)
17) I’m horribly HORRIBLY broke.
18) I just decided … Im quitting this job as well.
19) Then I can focus on other things. Like making money.
20) My boss never comes to work.
21) What was this list about?
22) oh yeah…important things that happened this year.
23) I went on air on the radio and was heard by a total of seven people. That’s including the 2 that were at the station, Myself and the Dj talking to me.
24) Ive been wanting to host a radio show for a long time. I’ll start practicing and get back to you about that
inci-yeah.
25) I walk around with an iPod, a laptop and a palm PDA thingy. If I get a cool cell phone ill finally be someone else :)
27) Notice how I numbered this one wrongly.
26) This was supposed to be 27.
28) I haven’t been in touch with misbah for a while. I hope hes doing alright.

I never know how to end these lists. I wonder if theyre supposed to have a punchline at the end or something. Like number 28 should have been something funny like…


Hmmm…
I cant think of anything funny right now.

How odd.
That doesn’t happen very often. Maybe it’s a 2006 thing. Maybe this is a serious year.

Like 1998.

Speaking of which…

Misbah---you wouldn’t happen to have a copy of Alphonso D’Leaf ?
Of late ive been thinking about that play. And Im really sad that I don’t have a copy of the script.
Those were very creative times.





(pause)





:)